#MusicChoiceMonday Jaye Newton

Your #mcm wears pink. He’s a real man, who just recently released an album entitled “Real Men Wear Pink”. I first came across Jaye Newton at a fashion show that was put on by a modeling team at Kennesaw State University. Newton is one of the most talented artists that I have come across thus far. The song that caught my attention by this young man is called “Salsa Witcha Mama” that he performed .  I guess you could say it was the genuine identity that caught my attention about this song–not to mention the two young women that ran down the awhile swag surfing with each other as he performed and interacted with the audience. Not only is Newton an amazing performer, but his caliber is higher than most of the “rappers” of our generation. While he represents the Eastside of Atlanta, his style reaches a  new height that is only touched by few.

Have you ever listened to a song that made you just want to grab someone’s hand and dance as if you’re in a ballroom? No? Probably because if you are reading this you’re either considered a millennial or a baby boomer so Salsa music or Waltz music are only played at events that you’re forced to attend. Me? I play Waltz music in my room every morning, while a young black man takes control of the beat and carries it on his back. “Waltz With Me” is a song that I highly recommend. I will be posting a playlist of my favorite songs within the next month. As I put you all on to the hidden artists of our generation please take into account that like yourself, these artists continue to push forward in order to live out their dreams. Jaye Newton will be performing on Thursday, October 19th at Kennesaw State University’s Campus Green. For more information on Jaye Newton feel free to follow his social media!

 

 

Credits:

  1. P., Milca. “Jaye Newton Makes His Debut with ‘Real Men Wear Pink.’” The Source, The NorthStar Group, 26 Sept. 2017, thesource.com/2017/09/26/jaye-newton-real-men-wear-pink/.

2. Jaye Newton, Personal Interview

Leave a comment